Oh God… NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

I was asked to take some photos of a director spending the day with staff, getting to know them better and the work that they do.

I was thinking about the shots I wanted to take while on my way in. I thought of a typical shot of the director sitting in front of a lighting control panel while one of the technicians points to random buttons.

When I got there I noticed there was a large ladder that one of the technicians had been using to replace a light in the ceiling. I asked immediately if the director would mind climbing to the top and pose with the light in his hand, to give the impression he was installing the unit.

He agreed and this came out fine so we proceeded to the next shot of the lighting control panel and then to the final shot of the director listening  in to a technical phone call on an IT Help Desk situation.

After I came home I took the card out of the camera, connected it to my PC, opened Lightroom 4 and selected Import to my dump folder. Up came the thumbnails…. none of which were the shots I took in the morning…

OH GOD NOOOOOOOOOO!!!! WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When I first got my DSLR, I watched a video from Jared Polin, which had tips for beginners. One tip was to set your camera to not shoot if there wasn’t a card in the camera. I have had this set on my Canon 550d since then. So WTF happened?

SDHC card failure I think… Luckily I know of a great program call Recuva which I used to try and claw back at least some data. It had to perform a deep scan but it found all of them and managed to recover each to a 2nd drive on the pc. Crisis averted and that card is no longer in use.

You think it will never happen but it can. This has got me thinking about whether I should shoot in RAW and JPEG in case of card failure.. I may be able to salvage something of my shots dependent on the scale of the failure. When one of my 16 gig cards can hold 600 shots it would be a bloody disaster if that happened while on an important shoot.

I have now formatted each of my cards to at least try to make them as stable as they can be.

LITF

Leave a Reply

