Gotta watch out for that…

Afternoon.

I was cleaning my camera gear and started to clear all the SD cards of data. I noticed that one card had difficulty in entering the card slot of my Canon 550d.

I pulled it out and tried another, same problem. Looking in to the card slot I could see a very small piece of dark plastic stuck at the bottom. Not wanted to use a hammer I took a small pair of tweezers and gently pulled it out.

I checked my other SD cards and found that not one but two of them had lost a guide rail by the contact strip.

SDcard

Like a children’s toy at Christmas the plastic will invariable fall apart at some point. I will need to make a point to check each card as they go in and out of the slot. Luckily I had the tools to had to remove the plastic intruder there and then. If I had been out on a shoot and could not get it out that would have been it for the day.

So that is my first bit of consumer advice. Go check your plastic bits…

LITF

Leave a Reply

